APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship

Australian Print Workshop in partnership with The Dowd Foundation developed an exciting program to foster contemporary Australian printmaking and support emerging Victorian artists.

Kasia Fabijańska - 2015 APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship recipient

Kyoko Imazu - 2014 APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship recipient

Marisa Corral - 2013 APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship recipient with APW Printer Simon White

Tom Sevil (left) - 2012 APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship recipient with APW Printer Simon White

Andrew Keall - 2011 APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship recipient

Emmet O'Dwyer (left) - 2011 APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship recipient with APW Senior Printer Martin King

The APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship presented a fantastic opportunity for an Artist to undertake a 3-month print-based project at Australian Print Workshop, under the guidance and mentoring of APW's highly skilled Printers.

This scholarship program provided:

  • Studio Access – three consecutive months, rent-free use of the professional printmaking facilities and equipment of the Australian Print Workshop Open Access Studio
  • Mentoring - the opportunity to meet with APW highly skilled Printers on a regular basis, to discuss their work and to seek technical advice
  • Print Collaboration - the opportunity to produce work in collaboration with APW Printers. APW Printers will manage all of the technical aspects of the project, including plate preparation & processing, proofing and editioning the work. All printmaking materials required for the project will also be provided including printing plates, fine art paper and inks
  • Exhibition – inclusion in a group exhibition at the APW Gallery; to showcase a selection of works produced as a result of the APW scholarship


A selection of limited edition fine art prints by artists who have been awarded the APW Dowd Foundation Scholarship are available for purchase from the APW Gallery and online through the APW Printstore.


Scholarship recipients included:

2015:  Kasia Fabijańska
2014:  Kyoko Imazu
2013:  Marisa Corral
2012:  Tom Sevil
2011:  Emmet O'Dwyer and Andrew Keall